Lesley University Claims 2017 NECC Women’s Cross Country Championship

Photo credit: Katie Collins
Photo credit: Katie Collins

Full Results

Westfield, Mass- Lesley University took home the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Champion honors for the first time since 2014 after placing five runners in top 10 during the 2017 NECC Women’s Cross Country Championships at Stanley Park in Westfield, Massachusetts.

2017 NECC Runner of the Year honors went to Southern Vermont’s Annika Kristiansen after finishing with a time of 20:10.89. Lesley’s Julia Fagundes (21:47:23) took home 2017 Rookie Runner of the Year honors, while Lesley’s Brendan Peltier took home 2017 NECC Coach of the Year Honors.

Lesley’s Amy Bouchard (20:35.60) paced the champion Lynx with her second place finished. Alexandra Dimauro (20:56.60), Nicole Footer (21:09.67), Jordan Penney (21:24.10) and Fagundes each added top 8 efforts for Lesley.

Elm’s Sarah Tatgenhorst (20:52.60) and Southern Vermont’s Isabella Poulos (21:00.66) took home First Team All-Conference honors following their third and fifth place finishes, respectively.

Finishing second in the NECC team standings was Elms College with a total of 57 points. The Blazers placed five runners in the top 18 including Keara Moulton (22:58.85/ 13th overall) and Tyana Medina (23:21.44/ 14th overall) and Tatgenhorst.

NECC All-Conference First Team
1. Annika Kristiansen, Southern Vermont College
2. Amy Bouchard, Lesley University
3. Sarah Tatgenhorst, Elms College
4. Alexandra Dimauro, Lesley University
5. Isabella Poulos, Southern Vermont College
6. Nicole Footer, Lesley University
7. Jordan Penney, Lesley University

NECC All-Conference Second Team
8. Julia Fagundes, Lesley University
9. Alexa Tivey, Wheelock College
10. Emma Wilson, Wheelock College
11. Beth Caronna, Lesley University
12. Anne Cooper, Lesley University
13. Keara Moulton, Elms College
14. Tyana Medina, Elms College

NECC All-Sportsmanship Team

Brooke Shelley, Dean (So., Minot, Maine)
Sarah Kaczenski, Elms (Sr., Northfield, Mass.)
Sarah Beth Campisi, Lesley (Sr., Saco, Maine)
Kate McCormack, Mitchell (Jr., Narragansett, R.I.)
Samantha Libby, Newbury (Jr., New Gloucester, Maine)
Maddy Main, Southern Vermont (Jr., Bennington, Vt.)
Emma Wilson, Wheelock (Jr., Hallowell, Maine)

Courtesy of Newbury College Sports Information