Two NECC Schools Named IWLCA Honor Squads; 11 Athletes Land on Honor Roll

Two NECC Schools Named IWLCA Honor Squads; 11 Athletes Land on Honor Roll

GRAND LAKE, Colo. – The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) has announced its 2018 Academic Honor Squads and Academic Honor Roll.  Elms College and Southern Vermont College represent the NECC on the Honor Squad list, while 11 players from four member schools appeared on the Academic Honor Roll.

For a team to be decorated as an Academic Honor Squad, the crew must post a collective grade point average of 3.0 or higher for the academic year. A total of 339 teams across NCAA Division I, II, III, and the NAIA received the 2018 laurel

To be eligible for the individual accolade, a player must be a junior, senior, or graduate student and post a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or higher at the end of the spring semester. A total of 639 Division III student-athletes were recognized on the 2018 list—representing 189 DIII institutions.

Two Becker College student-athletes were recognized, junior Samantha D'Auteuil (Columbia, Conn.) and junior Julia Johnson (Littleton, Colo.). Dean College saw one athlete, rising senior Makayla Fisher (Irvington, N.J.), recognized on the list. Elms led the pack with six honorees, as juniors Vanessa Vurno (Salem, Conn.), Lindsey McNiff (Kingston, Mass.), Alyssa Barnes (Pittsfield, Mass.) and seniors Jacqueline Soucia (Belchertown, Mass.), Haley George (Brattleboro, Vt.), and Madison Crawford (Bennington, Vt.) appeared on the list. Southern Vermont rounded out the NECC selections, with senior Kelsey Carrera (Queensbury, N.Y.) and junior Stephany Ferreira (Shelton, Conn.) making their way onto the Division III Academic Honor Roll.


2018 IWLCA Academic Honor Squad Release

2018 IWLCA Division III Honor Roll Release



Portions of this release courtesy of Becker, Dean and Southern Vermont Sports Information