Dean Claims 2018 NECC Men's Cross Country Title

Dean Claims 2018 NECC Men's Cross Country Title

Full Results 

WESTFIELD, Mass. – The Dean men took home New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) cross country title on Sunday at the championship race at Stanley Park in Westfield, Mass.

Each of Dean's top five runners finished in the top 20 in the men's race, led by a third place finish by Ryan Glynn (Abington, Mass.), who ran the 8k course in 29:46. Ross Rubin (Annandale, Va.) finished sixth in 29:58 and Yurly Buttrick (Georgetown, Mass.) came in eighth in 30:22 to round out three top-10 finishers for the Bulldogs.

Southern Vermont finished second in the men's race led by a second-place performance from Caldwell Holden (Pittsburgh, Pa.), who finished in 29:27. Davante Smith (Ellenville, N.Y.) also finished in the top five for SVC taking fifth in 29:55. Mountaineer head coach Jarrett Blankenship was voted the NECC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year after the meet.

Elms College took third in the men's race led by NECC Rookie of the Year Ricky Elmer (Chicopee, Mass.) who took fourth individually in 29:50. Donald Cianciolo (Waterbury, Conn.) added a 12th-place finish for the Blazers, finishing in 31:40. The Blazers were followed by Newbury in fourth place, led by a 10-place individual finish from Geralson Withrow (Mystic, Conn.) who finished in 31:16.

Mitchell's David Still (New London, Conn.) claimed NECC Men's Cross Country Runner of the Year honors after winning the men's race in 28:39. Still was the only men's runner to break 29 minutes on the 8k course and finished 48 seconds ahead of the second-place runner. The Mariners finished fifth as a team.


NECC Men's Cross Country Major Award Winners 

Runner of the Year: David Still, Mitchell 

Rookie of the Year: Ricky Elmer, Elms 

Coach of the Year: Jarrett Blankenship, Southern Vermont 


NECC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Performers:

First Team All-NECC

Mark Garceau – Mitchell

Ross Rubin – Dean

Davante Smith – Southern Vermont

Ricky Elmer – Elms

Ryan Glynn – Dean

Caldwell Holden – Southern Vermont

David Still – Mitchell


Second Team All-NECC

Robert Gorman – Eastern Nazarene

John LaMagna – Dean

Donald Cianciolo – Elms

David Naughton – New England College

Geralson Winthrow – Newbury

Ben Wiggin – New England College


Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team

Sebastian Wisnevesky – Dean

Kevin Rodriguez – Eastern Nazarene

Rich Hernandez – Elms

Mike Flemming – Lesley

Evan Kristal – Mitchell

David Naghton – New England College

Geralson Withrow – Newbury

Davante Smith – Southern Vermont