Regis' Bisnett, Elms' Alejandro, and Endicott's Lipton Earn Top NECC Men's Volleyball Honors

Regis' Bisnett, Elms' Alejandro, and Endicott's Lipton Earn Top NECC Men's Volleyball Honors

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – Regis College’s senior Sean Bisnett takes the top New England Collegiate Conference Men’s Volleyball Honors. The reigning NECC Defensive Player of the Year earned 2017 Player of the Year accolades. 

Sean Bisnett helped lead the Pride to second in the regular season before falling to Elms College in the NECC Semifinals. The Oxnard, Calif. native had a strong senior season finishing in the top five in many offensive categories. Bisnett was first in NECC play with 30 service aces good for .77 per set, while also tallying the most kills (140) and second overall with 3.59 kills per set.  

2017 Defensive Player of the Year honors went to first year Audrye Alejandro from Elms College. The rookie libero led all players with 121 digs in NECC play which equated to 3.03 digs per set, also tops in the NECC. His defensive efforts helped the Blazers make it tohe NECC Championship game.

First year standout Bryn Lipton from Endicott College was named the 2017 NECC Rookie of the Year. Lipton finished his rookie campaign with the most kills per set (3.85), while landing third with a hitting percentage of .470 in conference play. Joining Lipton with All-NECC First Team honors for the Gulls was senior Daniel Toth. The duo led Endicott to their fifth straight NECC Title, guided by the 2017 NECC Coach of the Year George Chapell. Toth finished his senior campaign in impressive fashion as he led the NECC with 1.07 blocks per set and was second in hitting percentage at .489.

Joining Bisnett on the All-NECC First Team to represent the Pride was Brett Krahl, the reigning NECC Player of the year had a strong junior season, finishing NECC play with a staggering .506 hitting percentage and adding 29 total blocks for the Pride.

Elms College had two All-NECC First Team honorees in juniors Daniel Bondarovsky andGabriel Reis Levy. Bondarovsky tallied eight blocks in NECC play which was good for third in the conference, while also landing fifth with 2.16 digs per set. Teammate Gabriel Reis Levy finished third for the NECC with 3.46 kills per set after a total of 83 kills in conference action.

See below for the full list of All Conference Honors:

Player of the Year: Sean Bisnett, Regis
Defensive Player of the Year: Audrye Alejandro, Elms 
Rookie of the Year: Bryn Lipton, Endicott
Coach of the Year: George Chapell, Endicott

All-Conference First Team

Daniel Bondarovsky, Elms (Jr., OH/OPP, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
Gabriel Reis Levy, Elms (Jr., OH/OPP, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
Bryn Lipton, Endicott (Fr., OH, Rockford, Ill.)
Daniel Toth, Endicott (Sr., MB, Glenwood, N.J.)
Sean Bisnett, Regis (Sr., OH, Oxnard, Calif.)  
Brett Krahl, Regis (Jr., MB, Santa Clarita, Calif.)


All Conference Second Team

Kenny Sorensen, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., OH, Quincy, Mass.)
Audrye Alejandro, Elms (Fr., L, Las Piedras, P.R.)
John Dunphy, Elms (So., S, Farmington, Conn.)
Troy Riorden, Endicott (Jr., OH/OPP, Fairport, N.Y.)
Drew Beimel, Regis So., RS, Redondo Beach, Calif.)
Joe Hanrahan, Regis (Sr., S, Coventry, R.I.)


All-Sportsmanship Team

Matthey Tyree, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., S/L, Lansdale, Pa.)
Austin DeCosmo, Elms (Sr., MH/OH, Southwick, Mass.)
Troy Riorden, Endicott (Jr., OH/OPP, Fairport, N.Y.)
Jason Hulteen, Lesley (Sr., MB/OH, Galena, Ohio)
Cesar Cruz, Newbury (So., DS, Brockton, Mass.)
Jayson Vega, Regis (Fr., S, Ponce, Puerto Rico)
Adrian Dickerson, Southern Vermont (So., OPP/DS, Bristol, Vt.)