The 2010 NECC All-Conference Men’s Soccer Team Announced

The 2010 NECC All-Conference Men’s Soccer Team Announced

Haggerty, Almeida Beers, Karkanjozi and Vasconcelos Garner Top NECC Awards

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – Seven of the Eight sponsored programs were represented on the 2010 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Men’s Soccer All-Conference Team, it was announced today by Commissioner Del Malloy. In addition to the All-NECC honors, four separate major individual award winners and the team sportsmanship award were also voted upon and selected this week.

Southern Vermont Mountaineer junior forward Nick Haggerty (Wynantskill, N.Y.), a criminal justice major, was named the 2010 NECC Men’s Soccer Player of the Year. In conference play, Haggerty led the league in points(23) , points per game(3.29), goals (11) and goals per game (1.57). He was sixth in the NECC in shots (21) and shots per game (3.00) as well.  Haggerty also reached the top five in the NCAA Division III national statistics in two different categories (Goals per game 1.07 - 4th) (Points per game 2.27 - 2nd). He was named NECC player of the week three times and ECAC player of the week. Overall, he finished with 17 points, two assists and 36 points.

For the second straight year,  Lesley University Lynx senior Zachary Almeida-Beers (Rehoboth, Mass.) was named the NECC Men’s Soccer Goalkeeper of the Year. Almeida-Beers, a history and global studies major, tallied 8 saves with a 0.18 goals against average leading the conference in save percentage (.889) ,shut-outs (3) and shut-outs per game (0.50).  Overall he has played 1474:04 minutes while notching 42 saves, a 0.37 GAA and an .875 save percentage in 17 of their 18 matches.

Becker College Hawk freshman forward Aldo Karkanjozi (Sterling Heights, Mich.) nabbed the 2010 NECC Men’s Soccer Rookie of the Year award for his first season of collegiate play. Karkanjozi, undecided in his major, earned NECC Rookie of the Week honors once.  In NECC play, he was second in shots (26) and shots on goal (4.33, third in points (16) and points per game (2.67), fourth in goals (6), third in goals per game (1.00), second in assists (4) and assists per game (0.67) and second in game winning goals (1).  He is the only major award winner to place in the top five in all offensive categories. Overall, Karkanjozi led the Hawks with ten goals, eight assists and 28 points.

Almeida-Beers was joined by his head coach Paul Vasconcelos as the 2010 NECC Men’s Soccer Coach of the Year.  This is the second straight year Vasconcelos has won the men’s soccer honor. Vasconcelos led the Lynx to a 15-2-1 overall record and 6-1-0 in conference play. They earned the #1 seed in the NECC tournament.

For the second straight season, the  Wildcats of Wheelock, led by head coach Stephanie Smyrl were honored as the 2010 NECC Team Sportsmanship Award recipients. In their second season of play, the Wildcats went 0-16 and 0-7 in conference.

Voting for the All-NECC team and each of the major awards was conducted among all NECC men’s soccer coaches.

Joining Haggerty, Almeida-Beers and Karkanjozi on the All-NECC First Team in the forward positions were Lesley freshman Ali Sozeri (Istanbul, Turkey) and Mitchell senior Jamie Serrano (Clinton, Conn.); at the midfielder positions were Newbury sophomore Shaundize Moosavizadeh (Winchester, Mass.), Lesley sophomore Ari Sinanis (Guilford, Conn.) and Daniel Webster junior Alex Jackson (Kent, Ohio); in the defender positions were Daniel Webster senior Samson Kiberu (Waltham, Mass.), Lesley junior Christian Domingo (Granda Hills, Calif.) and senior Stephen Siragusa (Valley Stream, N.Y.).

Second team honors went out to eleven players including Daniel Webster junior forward Spencer Bernard (Windsor Locks, Conn.), Lesley senior midfielder Tyler Reeves (Coventry, Conn.), Mitchell junior midfielder James Gleason (Old Lyme, Conn.), Mitchell junior midfielder Dustin Huguenin (Gales Ferry, Conn.), Daniel Webster senior midfielder Michael Lohr (Chepachet, R.I.), Becker senior defender Luis Cipriano (Westport, Mass.), Southern Vermont sophomore defender Chris Hansen  (Raymertown, N.Y.), Southern Vermont senior keeper Aaron Eschler (Gloversville, N.Y.), Mitchell junior keeper Kevin Woodford (Niantic, Conn.), Newbury junior keeper William McNally (Grafton, Mass.) and Daniel Webster junior keeper Joe Keene (Bristol, N.H.).

Five defenders received NECC honorable mention honors including Mitchell sophomore Matt Grandy (Meriden, Conn.), Daniel Webster junior Andrew Donovan (Milford, N.H.), Mitchell senior John Burkart (Creeskill, N.J.), Southern Vermont sophomore Noah Massucci (Craftsbury, Vt.) and Newbury senior Joseph Lawer (Worcester, Mass.).

2010 NECC MENS SOCCER PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Nick Haggerty, Southern Vermont, JR (Wynantskill, N.Y.)
2010 NECC MENS SOCCER GOALIE OF THE YEAR: Zachary Almeida-Beers, Lesley, SR(Rehoboth, Mass.)
2010 NECC MENS SOCCER ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Aldo Karkanjozi, Becker, FR (Sterling Heights, Mich.)
2010 NECC MEN’S SOCCER COACH OF THE YEAR: Paul Vasconcelos, Lesley

Nick Haggerty, Southern Vermont, Junior
Ali Sozeri, Lesley, Freshman
Jamie Serrano, Mitchell, Senior
Shaundize Moosavizadeh, Newbury, Sophomore
Ari Sinanis, Lesley, Sophomore
Alex Jackson, Daniel Webster, Junior
Samson Kiberu, Daniel Webster, Senior
Christian Domingo, Lesley, Junior
Stephen Siragusa, Lesley, Senior
Zachary Almeida-Beers, Lesley, Senior

Spencer Bernard, Daniel Webster, Junior
Tyler Reeves, Lesley, Senior
James Gleason, Mitchell, Junior
Dustin Huguenin, Mitchell, Junior
Michael Lohr, Daniel Webster, Senior
Luis Cipriano, Becker, Senior
Chris Hansen, Southern Vermont, Sophomore
Aaron Eschler, Southern Vermont, Senior
Kevin Woodford, Mitchell, Junior
William McNally, Newbury, Junior
Joe Keene, Daniel Webster, Junior


Matt Grandy, Mitchell, Sophomore
Andrew Donovan, Daniel Webster, Junior
John Burkart, Mitchell, Senior
Noah Massucci, Southern Vermont, Sophomore
Joseph Lawer, Newbury, Senior

Nick Haggerty

Zachary Almeida-Beers
Aldo Karkanjozi
Paul Vasconcelos

Wheelock Wildcats
Team Sportsmanship