Babson Wins their Third Straight NECC Men's Golf Championship

Babson Wins their Third Straight NECC Men's Golf Championship

Final Results:

WEST BOYLSTON, Mass. – With a two-day team total of 595, Babson College claimed its third straight New England Collegiate Conference Men's Golf Championship on Sunday at Wachusett Country Club. 

After posting a first-round score of 298, the Beavers improved by one stroke on the final day to clinch the program's fifth NECC title in the nine-year history of the league. All five Babson golfers carded rounds of 77 or better and earned all-conference honors. The Beavers also earned the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Championship in the spring.

Freshman Chris Bornhorst finished with a two-day total of 143 (-1) to claim individual medalist honors. He was the only player to finish under par for the tournament and led all golfers with seven birdies and 24 pars. By virtue of his win, Bornhorst was also named NECC Player and Rookie of the Year.

Both Bornhorst and teammate Martin Jensen shot 73 on Sunday, the low round of the day. Jensen moved up one spot in the standings and finished as runner-up with a 36-hole total of 150. Babson's Lukas Linemayr and David Choi came in at 151 and 153, respectively, while Elms College sophomore Chris Soderberg rounded out the top five at 155. All five golfers also earned all-conference first team honors.

Springfield College finished as runner-up in the team standings with a two-day total of 637. Freshmen Doug Shane  and Mike Strong tied for sixth overall with scores of 156 while junior Travis Price finished one shot back and placed ninth. All three earned a spot on the all-conference second team.

Babson's Ian Notkin and Becker College's MacGregor Howey claimed the final two spots on the all-conference second team. Notkin finished tied for sixth at 156 while Howey placed 10th at 158.

Elms (645) and Mitchell College (710) rounded out the team standings. Freshman Michael Izzo paced the Mariners at 167 and tied for 15th overall.

Daniel Webster College senior Clint Goodwin led his squad with a 162 and finished 11th overall. 

Final Team Results
Babson – 595  
Springfield – 637 
Elms – 645  
Mitchell – 710 
Daniel Webster – DQ 
Becker – DQ 

NECC Player of the Year: Chris Bornhorst (Babson)
NECC Rookie of the Year: Chris Bornhorst (Babson)
NECC Coach of the Year: Jeff Page (Babson)

NECC All-Conference First Team
Chris Bornhorst (Babson)
Martin Jensen (Babson)
Lukas Linemayr (Babson)
David Choi (Babson)
Chris Soderberg (Elms)

NECC All-Conference Second Team
Michael Strong (Springfield)
Douglas Shane (Springfield)
Ian Notkin (Babson)
Travis Price (Springfield)
MacGregor Howey (Becker)

NECC All-Sportsmanship Team
Lukas Linemayr (Babson)
Connor Allison (Becker)
Nasi Nikopoulos (Daniel Webster)
Mike Fleury (Elms)
Michael Izzo (Mitchell)
Travis Price (Springfield)

Courtesy of Mitchell Athletic Communications