NECC Announces 2017-18 Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams

NECC Announces 2017-18 Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams

ATTLEBORO, Mass. –  The NECC announced its 2017-18 Men’s Basketball All-Conference teams and major award winners on Monday afternoon. The awards were voted on by the conference’s eight coaches following the conclusion of the regular season. All eight conference schools are represented on the all-conference teams or major awards, with Mitchell College leading the way with three honorees. Southern Vermont College claimed three of the four major awards.

Southern Vermont senior guard Mike Pierre (Melrose, N.Y.) was voted the 2018 NECC Player of the Year, while his teammate Daemond Carter (Forestville, Md.) was named Defensive Player of the Year. Elms College freshman Greg Metelus (Palm Beach, Fla.) was named Rookie of the Year. Southern Vermont head coach Dan Engelstad was voted Coach of the Year by his peers.

Pierre is joined on the first team by Jordan Booker (Waterbury, Conn.) of Dean College, and Domenico Santiago (Port St. Lucie, Fla.) of Mitchell. Becker College places two on the first-team, as forward Samuel Durodola (Rosedale, N.Y.) and guard Kareem Davis (Lowell, Mass.) round out the first team selections.  

The second team features two Mitchell Mariners, guard Alan Morgan (Port St. Lucie, Fla.) and forward Hasani Williams (Miramar, Fla.).  Lesley University forward Joey Martin (Melbourne, Fla.) also earned second-team accolades, as did Newbury College’s Jeduan Langston (Roxbury, Mass.) and Wheelock College’s Dejuan Rodriguez (New London, Conn.).


NECC Player of the Year – Mike Pierre, Southern Vermont (Sr., G, Melrose, N.Y.)


In his senior campaign, Pierre led the Mountaineers to a 12-and-2 regular season conference record, and the number one seed in the conference tournament. Southern Vermont went on to win the NECC Championship, for which Pierre was named Most Valuable Player. Pierre leads his team with an average of 18.6 points per game in conference play, good for fifth in the conference. He scored his 1,000 career point in January, and broke the Mountaineers’ single game scoring record on January 3, 2018, with 47 points against MCLA. He averaged 7.1 rebounds and 3.3 assists per game, while also making his presence known defensively with 1.6 steals per game in league play. Pierre was a one time 2017-18 NECC Player of the Week selection (week ending 1/8/18).


NECC Defensive Player of the Year – Daemond Carter, Southern Vermont (Sr., G, Forestville, Md.)


Senior Daemond Carter was the leader of a Southern Vermont defense that only allowed conference opponents to score 66.6 points per game, tops in the league. The Mountaineers consistently looked to the senior to defend their opponent’s top scorer. Carter was a master at forcing turnovers, with his defense helping Southern Vermont force its opponents to commit the 18th most turnovers per game in DIII (19.07). He had 19 steals in conference play (1.5 steals per game), and has 99 career steals (8th all-time at Southern Vermont). Carter also pulled down 2.5 defensive boards per game from the guard positon. He was the NECC Rookie of the Year in 2015.  


NECC Rookie of the Year – Greg Metelus, Elms (Fr., G., Palm Beach, Fla.)


Freshman Greg Metelus made an immediate impact for a Blazers team that made its return to the NECC Conference Tournament after a one-year hiatus. Playing in 13 of the 14 conference games, Metelus led Elms with 15.1 points per game, also tops among conference rookies.  He led his team in steals at 1.1 per game, and chipped in 3.3 rebounds and 1.8 assists per game. He earned NECC Rookie of the Week honors once (week ending 2/19/18).


Coach of the Year – Dan Engelstad, Southern Vermont


In his fifth season, Engelstad led the Mountaineers to 12-and-2 conference record, and the No. 1 seed in the 2017 NECC Men’s Basketball Championship. This marks the fifth straight year Engelstad has led his squad to the NECC playoffs. Southern Vermont went on to win their second NECC Championship in three years. His team led the conference in points allowed (66.6), while also scoring 80.4 points per game in league play. This is Engelstad’s third NECC Coach of the Year accolade (2018, 2016, 2015).   


First Team All-NECC

Kareem Davis, Becker (Jr., G, Lowell, Mass.)

Samuel Durodola, Becker (Sr., F, Rosedale, N.Y.)

Jordan Booker, Dean (So., G, Waterbury, Conn.)

Domenico Santiago, Mitchell (Jr., C, Port St. Lucie, Fla.)

Mike Pierre, Southern Vermont (Sr., G, Melrose, N.Y.)


Second Team All-NECC

Joey Martin, Lesley (Jr., F, Melbourne, Fla.)

Alan Morgan, Mitchell (Sr., G, Port St. Lucie, Fla.)

Hasani Williams, Mitchell (So., F, Miramar, Fla.)

Jeduan Langston, Newbury (Sr., G, Roxbury, Mass.)

Dejuan Rodriguez, Wheelock (Jr., F, New London, Conn.)


All-NECC Sportsmanship Team

Bernard Broaster, Becker (Jr., F, Pembroke Pines, Fla.)

Noah Cesar, Dean (Fr., G, Miami, Fla.)

Tyler Sterling, Elms (Fr., G, Laurel, Md.)

William Cuffee, Lesley (Jr., F, Amherst, Mass.)

Colizel Lewis, Mitchell (Sr., G, Stockton, Calif.)

Tim Deng, Newbury (Fr., F, Portland, Maine)

Rohan Piple, Southern Vermont (Jr., G/F, Germantown, Md.)

Brendan Miller, Wheelock (Fr., F, Tampa, Fla.)