Becker Leads the Way in the NECC Men's Basketball All Conference Awards

Becker Leads the Way in the NECC Men's Basketball All Conference Awards

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – Becker lands three major NECC Men's Basketball awards after an incredible season. Head coach Brian Gorman was selected as the Coach of the Year, by a vote of his peers, while Samuel Durodola and Antonio White Jr. earned NECC Player and Rookie of the year respectively.

Becker was led to an NECC Title, helped also by All-NECC First team member, Kyle Credle. Durodola finished his junior campaign leading the conference with a field goal percentage of 60.1, rebounds with 180, and also landing second with 22 points per game in NECC play. Credle was not far behind having impact games when the Hawks needed it most.

Defensive Player of the Year honors went to Conny Ihearahu from Elms College, while teammate Symon Smith earned first team honors. Ihearahu led the conference with 33 blocks this season and also finished third with 10.5 rebounds per game. Smith powered the Blazers offense as he led the league with 25.5 points per game in conference play.

Also earning first team honors was Rayshawn Taylor from Southern Vermont College. Taylor led the Mountaineers back to the NECC Championship game with an impressive 16.8 points per game, while also tallying 5.7 rebounds per game.

The final member of the All-NECC First team is Nicholas Fenton from Wheelock College. The senior ended his career on a high note finishing fifth in the conference with 19.6 points per game. The senior led the Wildcats to the NECC Semifinals after earning their first playoff appearance since the 2011-2012 season.

Coach of the Year: Brian Gorman, Becker
Player of the Year: Samuel Durodola, Becker
Defensive Player of the Year: Conny Ihearahu, Elms
Rookie of the Year: Antonio White Jr., Becker (Fr., G, Middletown, Conn.)

First Team

Kyle Credle, Becker (Sr., G, Queens, N.Y.)
Samuel Durodola, Becker (Jr., F, Rosedale, N.Y.)
Symon Smith, Elms (Sr., G, Oklahoma City, Okla.)
Rayshawn Taylor, Southern Vermont (Sr., G/F, Silver Spring, Md.)
Nicholas Fenton, Wheelock Sr., G, East Hartford, Conn.)

Second Team

Kareem Davis, Becker (So., G, Lowell, Mass.)
Xeo Golding, Lesley (So., F, Windermere, Fla.)
Devon Mayo, Lesley (Sr., G, Newport News, Va.)
Nate Goldsmith, Southern Vermont (Sr., G/F, Capitol Heights, Md.)
Anthony Williams, Wheelock (Sr., F, White Plains, N.Y.)

Third Team

Conny Ihearahu, Elms (Sr., G/F, Largo, Md.)
Domenico Santiago, Mitchell (So., F/C, Port St. Lucie, Fla.)
Jeduan Langston, Newbury (Jr., G, Roxbury, Mass.)
Chris Leak Jr., Regis (Sr., F, New Haven, Conn.)
Mike Pierre, Southern Vermont (Jr., G, Melrose, N.Y.)

All-Sportsmanship Team

Khairi Mosley, Becker (Sr., G, Elizabeth, N.J.)
Keeshaun King, Elms (Jr., G, Jacksonville, Fla.)
Will Cuffee, Lelsey (So., F, Amherst, Mass.)
Mack Bertram-Gregory, Mitchell (Jr., F, Stockton, Conn.)
Dan Horwitz, Newbury (Sr., G, West Hartford, Conn.)
Jaiwon Martin, Regis (Sr., F, Coral Springs, Fla.)
Ervin Cook, Southern Vermont (Sr., G, Germantown, Md.)
Matt Eason, Wheelock (Sr., G, East Hartford, Conn.)