The 2010-11 NECC All-Conference Men’s Basketball Teams Announced

The 2010-11 NECC All-Conference Men’s Basketball Teams Announced

Spratling, Mitchell and Gorman Earn NECC Top Awards

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – Seven of the eight sponsored programs were represented on 2011 New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team, it was announced today by Commissioner Del Malloy. In addition to the All-NECC honors, three separate major individual award winners and the team sportsmanship award were also voted upon and selected this week.

Southern Vermont College senior guard Lance Spratling (Pittsfield, Mass.), a history and politics major, was named the 2010-11 NECC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year. In conference play, Spratling led the league in scoring (21.1 ppg), 6th in assists per game (3.1 apg), 2nd in three-point field goals percentage(.471), 12th  in steals  (.466) and 4th in three-point field goals made (2.4 3pg).  In overall statistics, he also topped the leader board at (21.0 ppg), 5th in assists (3.4 apg), 6th in steals (1.8 spg),  4th  in three-point field goal percentage (.403) and 5th in three-point field goals made (2.1 pg).  Spratling was named NECC Player of the Week five times this season along with an ECAC weekly honor.

Mitchell College freshman guard Tim Quinn (Vernon, Conn.) nabbed the 2010-11 NECC Men’s Basketball Rookie of the Year for his first season of collegiate play. Quinn, a sports management major, finished his first year campaign at 16th in conference scoring (12.0 ppg) and 15th in three-point field goals made (1.4 3pg). He was named NECC Rookie of the Week three times, while leading the Mariners in scoring this year. Quinn also topped all NECC freshmen in scoring this season.

The Becker College Hawks (23-4) took top honors as they finished with a perfect 14-0 conference record. The Hawks’ head coach Brian Gorman, was named the 2010-11 NECC Men’s Basketball Coach of the Year. This is his second consecutive year winning this honor. Gorman, who is in his fourth season with Becker, has a .681 winning percentage (77-36). Two years ago, he led the Hawks to the 2008-09 ECAC Men’s Basketball Championship title.

The Wildcats of Wheelock College, led by head coach John Preziosa, were honored as the 2010-11 NECC Team Sportsmanship Award recipients. The Wildcats finished with a 10-16 overall record and 6-8 in conference play earning the 5th seed in the 2011 NECC Men’s Basketball Tournament.

Voting for the All-NECC team and each of the major awards was conducted among all NECC men’s basketball head coaches.

Joining Spratling on All-NECC First Team were a trio of Becker players including senior Rajai Leggett (New Haven, Conn.), senior Trey Jacobs (Lexington Park, Md.) and junior Terrance Favors (Boston, Mass.);  along with Lesley junior John Sanchez (Carson, Calif.).

Second team honors went out to a pair of Elms’ seniors Edgar Martinez (Springfield, Mass.) and Juan Alverio (Toa Baja, Puerto Rico), Southern Vermont junior Taeshon Johnson (Pittsfield, Mass.), Newbury sophomore Peterson Bernard (Boston, Mass.) and Daniel Webster senior Chris Hanson (Salem, Mass.)

Five players received honorable mention including a Wheelock duo senior Dan Main (Hopedale, Mass.) and junior Eric Rice (Woburn, Mass.), Lesley senior Jesus Trejo (Methuen, Mass.), Southern Vermont senior Ben Naaktgeboren (Cambridge, N.Y.) and Elms sophomore Brittain Purcelle (Tarrytown, N.Y.).

Click Here For Full Release


2011 NECC POY:
Lance Spratling
2011 NECC ROY:
Tim Quinn

2011 NECC COY:

Brian Gorman

2011 NECC Team Sportsmanship:

Wheelock College Wildcats