Husson Captures 2018 NECC Field Hockey Championship

Husson Captures 2018 NECC Field Hockey Championship

HENNIKER, N.H. –  Arika Brochu's overtime goal leads Husson University field hockey to their eighth championship title as the Eagles defeated Thomas College, 2-1, in the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Field Hockey Championship on Sunday afternoon. 


Husson's Brochu found the back of the net first striking a hard shot at Terrier goalie MacKenzie Oberholzer in just the 6th minute of the game to put the Eagles up 1-0 for her sixth goal of the season. Oberholzer nearly stopped the shot, but fumbled the ball as it trickled across the goal line. 

Andrea Shaggy came up with a couple of huge saves for the Eagles in the 14th minute of the match, diving just in time to sweep the ball away from the goal line at the last second to preserve Husson's 1-0 advantage until the 27th minute when the Terriers evened the score off a rebounded goal by Lindsey Gregoire. Thomas' Emily Pratt sprinted towards the net, firing a shot which Shaggy deflected off towards the left post, where Gregoire was patiently waiting.

Despite several scoring opportunities for the Eagles in the second half, outshooting the Terrier's 13-3 throughout 35 minutes, neither team was able to tuck away the game winner in regulation. Thomas even had a golden opportunity, but a Husson defensive save by Brochu kept the game even at ones. 

With four minutes and one second remaining in the first overtime period, Husson earned a penalty corner. Sadie Royer approached her usual spot by the corner, sending a daunting pass towards the top of the arc directly to Brochu. Brochu took a touch before rifling a shot to the bottom right of the cage slipping through all defenders and past Oberholzer. Scoring both goals for the Eagles, Brochu sent Husson home with the 2018 NECC Field Hockey Championship.


Helping earn the win for the Eagles, Shaggy stopped 11 shots, while her counterpart, Oberholzer recorded four saves throughout the match. 


2018 NECC Field Hockey Tournament MVP 

Arika Brochu, Husson University 

2018 NECC Field Hockey All-Tournament Team 

Kylian Kelly, Becker College

Lauren Niemann, Becker College

Brittany Tierney, New England College 

Anya Owens, New England College

Katie Taylor, Thomas College

Britney Gregoire, Thomas College

Haley Thebarge, Thomas College

Tiffany Weeks, Thomas College 

Sadie Royer, Husson University 

Mercedes Pease, Husson University 

Haley Ward, Husson University