NECC Releases 2019 Baseball Postseason Honors, Mitchell Sweeps Major Awards

NECC Releases 2019 Baseball Postseason Honors, Mitchell Sweeps Major Awards

MARSHFIELD, Mass – The New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) announced its 2019 Baseball All-Conference teams and major award winners on Tuesday morning. The awards were voted on by the conference's nine coaches following the conclusion of the regular season. All nine institutions saw representation on the all-conference teams while Mitchell led the way with nine honorees, including sweeping all major awards. 

Mitchell's freshman, Dougie DelaCruz was voted as the 2019 NECC Player of the Year while his teammate, Roland Thivierge claimed Pitcher of the Year honors. Also representing the Mariners, is first year Ryan Solimine who was voted the Rookie of the Year while their head coach, Travis Beausoleil was named the Coach of the Year. 

Joining Thivierge and Solimine as pitchers on first team are Nick Powers (New England College) and Shayne Audet (New England College). For the infield, catcher Markus Melendez (Mitchell), first base, Tanyon Ventres (Becker), second base, Anderson Jimenez (New England College), third base, Xavier Nunez (New England College) and shortstop, Luis Atiles (New England College). Outfield selections included Player of the Year, DelaCruz, Eric Marriot (Mitchell) and Christian Aybar (New England College while Ryan Pumphret (Lesley) closed out the team as the designated hitter.

Second Team pitchers include: Daniel O'Donnell (Lesley), Jakari Pellegrini (Mitchell), Bryce Bedard (Mitchell) and Brent Houle (Eastern Nazarene). Taking the infield is catcher Jeff Sharnick (Dean), first base, Pumphret (Lesley), second base, Peter Abate, third base, Steven Pesce (Eastern Nazarene), and shortstop, Nick Guajardo (Southern Vermont). Owning the outfield is Steve Cochrane (Mitchell), Even Delaney (New England College) and Evan Barrera (Becker) while Brian Hadden (Dean) rounds it out as designated hitter.

Third Team pitchers include: Briley Seiter (Eastern Nazarene), Mark Travers (Newbury), Tanyon Ventres (Becker) and Ryan Richards (Southern Vermont). Rounding out the infield is catcher, Nathan Ayala (Elms), first base, Ryan Serrato (Southern Vermont), second base, Josue Basilis (Eastern Nazarene), third base, Steven Pagan (Mitchell) and shortstop Coby Hussey (Becker). Taking the outfield is Zack Stacey (Southern Vermont), Cameron Griffin (Elms) and Alex Hoss (Elms) while Michael Bianco (Becker) closes it out as designated hitter.


NECC Player of the Year – Dougie DelaCruz, Mitchell (Fr., OF, Uncassville, Conn.)

First year, Dougie DelaCruz helped lead the Mariners to an impressive 31-6 overall record while going 15-1 in conference play. The first year standout is tied as the league leader in runs batter in (48 overall, 23 NECC), runs (22), total bases (40) while posting a perfect fielding percentage from the outfield. The outfielder played a total of 37 games this season while holding a .410 overall batting average.


NECC Pitcher of the Year – Roland Thivierge, Mitchell (So., P, Portland, Conn.)

Sophomore pitcher, Roland Thivierge posted an impressive season making appearances 11 overall games and five in conference. The pitcher is the league leader in earned run average (2.24 overall, 1.78 NECC) while earning wins in all five conference appearances. The sophomore totaled 47 strikeouts in NECC play for an average of 8.01 per game. During the 2019 season Thivierge hurled a total of 56.1 innings, 30.1 being in league play.


NECC Rookie of the Year – Ryan Solimine, Mitchell (Fr., P, Danbury, Conn.)

First year, Ryan Solimine competed in an impressive rookie campaign in the 2019 season. The pitcher saw action in 10 games, five in conference while earning wins in all five league contests. The rookie is the league leader in shutouts (3 overall, 2 NECC) while pitching in a total of 56.1 innings, 28.1 in conference play. Solimine is second in the league in strikeouts (58 overall, 31 NECC) and earned run average (1.91).


NECC Coach of the Year – Travis Beausoleil, Mitchell

Mitchell Head Coach, Travis Beausoleil posted an impressive season at the helm of the Mariners. The team recorded a 31-6 record while owning a 15-1 record in league play, earning the No. 1 seed in the postseason. Under the guidance of Beausoleil the Mariners lead the league in many categories totaling 353 runs (145 NECC), 294 runs batted in (126 NECC) and 76 stolen bass (38 NECC). Mitchell also leads the league in OBP (.442) while owning a .469 slugging percentage and .354 batting average in league play.



2019 NECC Baseball All-Conference

First Team

P – Roland Thivierge, Mitchell

P – Ryan Solimine, Mitchell

P – Nick Powers, New England College

P – Shayne Audet, New England College

C – Markus Melendez, Mitchell

1B – Tanyon Ventres, Becker

2B – Anderson Jimenez, New England College

3B – Xavier Nunez, New England College

SS – Luis Atiles, New England College

OF – Dougie DelaCruz, Mitchell

OF – Eric Marriott, Mitchell

OF – Christian Aybar, New England College

DH - Ryan Pumphret, Lesley

Second Team 

P – Daniel O'Donnell Jr., Lesley

P – Jakari Pellegrini, Mitchell

P – Bryce Bedard, Mitchell

P – Brent Houle, Eastern Nazarene

C – Jeff Sharnick, Dean

1B – Ryan Pumphret, Lesley

2B – Peter Abate, Mitchell

3B – Steven Pesce, Eastern Nazarene

SS – Nick Guajardo, Southern Vermont

OF – Steve Cochrane, Mitchell

OF – Evan Delaney, New England College

OF – Evan Barrera, Becker

DH - Brian Hadden, Dean

Third Team 

P – Briley Seiter, Eastern Nazarene

P – Mark Travers, Newbury College

P – Tanyon Ventres, Becker

P – Ryan Richards, Southern Vt.

C – Nathan Ayala, Elms

1B – Ryan Serrato, Southern Vermont

2B – Josue Basilis, Eastern Nazarene

3B – Steven Pagan, Mitchell

SS – Coby Hussey, Becker

OF – Zack Stacey, Southern Vermont

OF – Cameron Griffin, Elms

OF – Alex Hoss, Elms

DH - Michael Bianco, Becker

2019 Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team

Manuel Alejandro, New England College

Dylan Presby, Newbury College

Jack Vogler, Elms

Zack Stacey, Southern Vt.

Brandon Paiva, Mitchell

Willis Pollard, Becker

Ryan Pumphret, Lesley

James Coury, Eastern Nazarene

Jeffrey Sharnick, Dean