Two Student-Athletes Invited to Attend NECC League Meeting

Two Student-Athletes Invited to Attend NECC League Meeting

MANSFIELD, Mass. –  Two student-athletes joined the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) league meeting on Wednesday at Becker College. Mike McMahon, who serves as the conference’s National Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) representative joined the meeting, as well as the NECC SAAC President, Jo Orrick of Bay Path University.

McMahon, a senior baseball student-athlete at Becker, began his national SAAC term in January of 2019. Orrick, a senior tri-sport athlete who competes in soccer, basketball and lacrosse, started her NECC SAAC presidency in February of 2019.

Commissioner Jacob VanRyn values the student-athlete perspective, and wanted to give them a chance to voice their opinions in front of league administrators. “We were thrilled to have Jo and Mike join as at our meeting on Wednesday. Everything we do is for our membership, and ultimately our student-athletes. To hear from them and get their voice on important issues was invaluable."

McMahon and Orrick were able to give their thoughts on this year’s proposed NCAA legislation, which will be voted on at the NCAA Convention in January.  In other agenda items, the student-athletes discussed the recently launched Sportsmanship Initiative, as well as the upcoming NECC SAAC meeting. McMahon and Orrick were also given the floor to bring any issues, questions and ideas to the forefront.

VanRyn expects to make inviting student-athletes to league meetings a tradition, saying, “We’re excited to have student-athletes continue to join us at our NECC meetings as we go forward.”


The NECC began competition in the 2008-09 academic year and current member institutions compete across 15 sports. The NECC membership focuses on providing athletic competition among institutions that share similar academic aspirations and are committed to the importance of the total educational experience for students engaged in sports. Current members include Bay Path University, Becker College, Dean College, Eastern Nazarene College, Elms College, Lesley University, Mitchell College and New England College.