236 Student-Athletes Named to NECC 2019-20 Winter/Spring Academic All-Conference Team

236 Student-Athletes Named to NECC 2019-20 Winter/Spring Academic All-Conference Team

2020 NECC Winter/Spring Academic All-Conference Team 

MANSFIELD, Mass.- A total of 236 student-athletes have been named to the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Academic All-Conference team for the 2019-2020 Winter and Spring semesters, as announced by the conference office on Wednesday morning. Of the 236 student-athletes, eight were honored in multiple sports.

In order to be eligible for NECC Academic All-Conference honors, a student-athlete must post a minimum grade point average of 3.40 on a scale of 4.00, and must be a sophomore or higher in class standing. Student-athletes who competed in baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s lacrosse, softball, men’s and women’s track & field and men’s volleyball were eligible for the award.

Among the honorees were the NECC Male and Female Senior Student-Athlete of the Year winners, Becker College’s Michael McMahon (Canton, Mass.), and Eastern Nazarene College’s Elisabeth Schaffer (Benton, Pa.).

There were three first-team All-NECC selections honored, and are joined on the All-Academic team by eight second team All-Conference members. With the exception of men's volleyball, the conference did not award All-Conference honors for the spring semester due to COVID-19. There were also 21 Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team members.

Softball saw the highest number of All-Academic honorees, with 44, with baseball right behind at 43.  

Elms College led the league with 40 total honorees.  


The NECC began competition in the 2008-09 academic year and current member institutions compete across 15 sports. The NECC membership focuses on providing athletic competition among institutions that share similar academic aspirations and are committed to the importance of the total educational experience for students engaged in sports. Current members include Bay Path University, Becker College, Dean College, Eastern Nazarene College, Elms College, Lesley University, Mitchell College and New England College.